Stages of Ego Development Essay

Custom Student Mr. Teacher ENG 1001-04 10 June 2016

Stages of Ego Development

The first phase of Jane Loevinger’s ego development is called the Impulsive stage. Though this is the known period for toddlers, individuals can be in this phase for a great deal longer, and in reality a certain amount of individuals stay in this impulsive point the their whole life. At this point a person’s ego maintains to be centered on physical emotions, central desires, and direct wants. The second phase is called the Self-Protective stage. This phase is commonly associated with a person’s middle childhood. The self-protective ego is more cognitively refined than the impulsive ego, although they are still using a better consciousness of reason and result, of regulations and penalties, to acquire what that person may want from others. As a result, are more inclined to be oppressive, scheming, and self-indulgent. The third phase is called the Conformist stage. The Conformist ego is extremely devoted in fit in to and gaining the appraisal of significant groupings, such as peer groups seen in most schools.

This stage is normally associated to the age group of individuals going into school. These people tend to see and assess who they are based on exterior matters like looks and status. The fourth phase is called the Conscientious/Conformist stage. This is the phase where most United States adults fall into. The conscientious/conformist ego illustrates an amplified but still incomplete understanding of profounder matters and the internal life of whom they are and who other people are. The fifth phase is called the Conscientious stage. At this stage, the inclination in the direction of self-assessment and self-analysis carry on. The sixth phase is called Individualistic stage.

This stage is where “the ego develops a greater tolerance for the individuality of others and a greater awareness of the conflict between heightened individuality and increased emotional dependence.” (Pinel, J.P.J. 2008. p. 377). The seventh phase is called Autonomous stage. “The autonomous (I-5) stage of ego development emerges with the capacity to cope adequately with the conflicts of the individualistic level. The person at this level reveals tolerance for ambiguity and high cognitive complexity.” (Pinel, J.P.J. 2008. p. 377). The eighth and final phase is called the Integrated stage. It is said that this stage is the hardest to achieve. During this stage, self-actualization manifests. The individual has genuinely developed and come to terms with their own identity.

McAdams, D. P. (2006). The person: A new introduction to personality psychology. (4th ed.). Hoboken, NJ: Wiley.

Free Stages of Ego Development Essay Sample


  • Subject:

  • University/College: University of California

  • Type of paper: Thesis/Dissertation Chapter

  • Date: 10 June 2016

  • Words:

  • Pages:

Let us write you a custom essay sample on Stages of Ego Development

for only $16.38 $13.9/page

your testimonials