Prime Ministers of India Essay

Custom Student Mr. Teacher ENG 1001-04 11 April 2016

Prime Ministers of India

The Prime Minister of India, as addressed to in the Constitution of India, is the chief of government, chief advisor to the President of India, head of the Council of Ministers and the leader of the majority party in parliament. The prime minister leads the executive branch of the Government of India. The prime minister is the senior member of cabinet in the executive branch of government in a parliamentary system. The prime minister selects and can dismiss other members of the cabinet; allocates posts to members within the Government; is the presiding member and chairman of the cabinet and is responsible for bringing proposal of legislation. The resignation or death of the prime minister dissolves the cabinet. The prime minister is appointed by the president to assist the latter in the administration of the affairs of the executive. Current Prime Minister – The incumbent prime minister is Manmohan Singh, in office since 22 May 2004.

Role and power of the prime minister
The prime minister leads the functioning and exercise of authority of the Government of India. He is invited by the President of India in the Parliament of India as leader of the majority party to form a government at the federal level (known as Central or Union Government in India) and exercise its powers. In practice the prime minister nominates the members of their Council of Ministers[3][4][5] to the president. The prime minister represents the country in various delegations, high level meetings and international organisations that require the attendance of the highest government office[9] and also addresses to the nation on various issues of national or other importance.

Selection process
A prime minister must:
* be a citizen of India.
* be a member of the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha.
* be above 25 years of age if he is a member of Lok Sabha or above 30 years of age if he is a member of the Rajya Sabha. * not hold any office
of profit under the Government of India or the Government of any State or under any local or other authority

The Prime Minister is required to make and subscribe in the presence of President of India before entering office, the oath of office and secrecy.

Prime Ministers of India
1. Jawaharlal Nehru (15th August 1947 – 27 May 1964)
2. Gulzarilal Nanda ( 27 May 1964 – 9 June 1964)
3. Lal Bahadur Shastri (9 June 1964 – 11 January 1966)
4. Indira Gandhi (24 January 1966 – 24 March 1977, 14 June 1980 – 31 October 1984) 5. Morarji Desai (24March 1977 – 28 July 1979)
6. CHaran Singh (28 July 1979 – 14 January 1980)
7. Rajiv Gandhi ( 31 October 1984 – 2 December 1989)
8. Vishwanath Pratap Singh ( 2 Decemeber 1989 – 10 November 1990) 9. Chandra Shekhar (10 November 1990 – 21 June 1991)
10. P.V. Narsimha Rao ( 21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996)
11. H.D.Deve. Gowda (1 june 1996 – 21 April 1997)
12. I.K. Gujral (21 April 1997 – 19 March 1998)
13. Atal Bihari Vajpayee ( 19 March 1998 – 22 May 2004)
14. Manmohan Singh ( 22 May 2004 – till now)

Free Prime Ministers of India Essay Sample


  • Subject:

  • University/College: University of Chicago

  • Type of paper: Thesis/Dissertation Chapter

  • Date: 11 April 2016

  • Words:

  • Pages:

Let us write you a custom essay sample on Prime Ministers of India

for only $16.38 $13.9/page

your testimonials