Religion As Different Categories

There are thousands of religions in the world. We can classify these religions in two different categories: monotheist, which beliefs in one God, for example Christianity, Judaism and Islam. Polytheist believes and adore multiple gods like Hinduism and Buddhism. The vast majority of the religions in the world believe that the world was created by a divine power. In the case of Polytheist one or more deity. By performing rites, sacrifices, ceremonies and prayers, people try to establish contact with a superior power.

The central tenet of Christianity is the belief in Jesus as the son if God and savior of humanity. Christians teach about the trinity ( the father, the son and the holy spirit).

Their sacred book is the Bible. Christians must accept Jesus Christ as their savior, that is the only way to get n into the Kingdom of heaven when they die.The Jewish people believe that they are the chosen people they trace their religion origins back to God’s call to Abraham.

Get quality help now
Sweet V
Verified writer

Proficient in: Religion

4.9 (984)

“ Ok, let me say I’m extremely satisfy with the result while it was a last minute thing. I really enjoy the effort put in. ”

+84 relevant experts are online
Hire writer

They belief that they are going to be rewarded with the messiah the returns to rule over Israel and brings peace to earth. They abided by the rules of ten commandments revealed to Moses and follow the teachings of the Torah. The concept of after life in Judaism is open to interpretation because there is not a specific mention of in the Torah.

The sacred text of the Islam is the Qur’an which most Muslims believe is the direct word of God that was revealed to Mohamad through the angel Gabriel.

Get to Know The Price Estimate For Your Paper
Number of pages
Email Invalid email

By clicking “Check Writers’ Offers”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy policy. We’ll occasionally send you promo and account related email

"You must agree to out terms of services and privacy policy"
Write my paper

You won’t be charged yet!

The most important practice of Islam is the Five Pillars which consist of: the Shahada or the recitation of Faith, the Salat or ritual prayer five times a day facing the direction of Mecca, Zakat is the third pillar and it means giving to the poor, the fourth pillar is Ramadan or fasting during the holy month and the fifth pillar is Hajj the aspiration to undertake a pilgrimage to Mecca at least once in their lives( The Islam that dead is a bridge to the eternal life. According to why Islam “ Life after death begins with the resurrection of man, after which there will come a moment when every human will be shaken as they are confronted with their intentions and deeds, good and bad, and even by their failure to do good in this life.

On the Day of Judgment the entire record of people from the age of puberty will be presented before God. God will weigh everyone’s good and bad deeds according to His Mercy and His Justice, forgiving many sins and multiplying many good deeds. One who excels in goodness will be rewarded generously, whereas one whose evils and wrongs overweigh his good deeds will be punished”. Hinduism has no founder, no common language, no common deity, no common scripture and no common ritual. According to BBC “Hindus believe in cycle of birth, death and rebirth governed by Karma. Hindus believe that every action has an effect and there is a cause for everything. This is called the law of Karma. Hindus believe that the soul passes through a cycle of lives and that the next life is dependent on how the previous life was lived.”

Buddhism focuses in spiritual development. They follow the teachings of the four noble truth and the eight fold path. The first noble truth is Dukkha life is suffering, the second one is Samudaya craving equals suffering, the third one is Nirodha we can escape the suffering and the number four is Magga the noble eightfold path. The eightfold path consist of the right view, the right intent, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness and right concentration. By following this path you can reach Nirvana. The Buddhist believe that when they die is not the end of the life, the retain consciensness to continue to a new form of life. Therefore depending on how they live their life and the state of mind they have when they die will determine the birth in a new life either more fortunate or an unfortunate one.

Cite this page

Religion As Different Categories. (2022, Jan 08). Retrieved from

👋 Hi! I’m your smart assistant Amy!

Don’t know where to start? Type your requirements and I’ll connect you to an academic expert within 3 minutes.

get help with your assignment