Southern, Middle, and New England Colonies

Categories: EnglandNew England

“The 13 Colonies was divided into 3 regions,” said Thought “New England, Middle, and Southern colonies, the chart below provides additional information including the years of settlement and founders of each.” For the New England Colonies, there was only 4 colonies and they were Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and lastly New Hampshire. For the Middle Colonies, there were also 4. There is Delaware, New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania. Lastly for the Southern Colonies had the first American Colony Georgia, Maryland, North and South Carolina.

The ThoughtCo said that “The first \”official\” American colony was formed in Jamestown, Virginia in 1607. They arrived safely on Roanoke Island, off the coast of North Carolina, also that by the middle of the year, the group realized they needed more supplies, and so they sent John White, governor of the colony, back to England.”

13 Colonies

According to the article by ThoughtCo “The first-ever colony was Jamestown Virginia and it was built in 1607. After Virginia, it was Massachusetts in 1620. Then it was New Hampshire in 1623 and then it was Maryland in 1634.

Connecticut was founded in 1635 and Rhode Island was only found a year later in 1636. Delaware was founded in 1638 and then less than 20 years later they found North Carolina in 1653 and then 10 years later they found South Carolina in 1663. New Jersey and New York were both founded in 1664, and lastly, Pennsylvania was founded in 1682 and Georgia was founded in 1732. That is 50 years until they built or founded the next and last colony which was Georgia.” All this info was from the website called ThoughtCo.

Top Writers
Professor Harris
Verified expert
4.9 (457)
Writer Lyla
Verified expert
5 (876)
Prof Evander
Verified expert
4.8 (654)
hire verified writer

How they were established

According to Colonial America for kids, they said that “Queen Elizabeth wanted to establish colonies in the Americas in order to grow the British Empire and to counter the Spanish.” They also said, “the English hoped to find wealth, create new jobs, and establish trade ports along the coast of the Americas.” In other Colonies, they were always trying to find a way to trade their most popular good for most of the money, they were using the go big or go home phrase literally. The 4 original Colonies were Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Connecticut, and Rhode Island.

Cite this page

Southern, Middle, and New England Colonies. (2020, Sep 04). Retrieved from

Are You on a Short Deadline? Let a Professional Expert Help You
Let’s chat?  We're online 24/7